Skip to content

the habit

April 28, 2010

A couple of months ago, I read this article in the NYT about the effect vacations have on happiness. The study mainly says that it is the anticipation of a vacation that makes you noticeably happier. There is no post-vacation afterglow.

OK, yes. Planning for and thinking about this trip has been wreaking havoc on my life. It’s like a drug habit. I stay up late into the night, neglecting everything: laundry, dishes, reading, bills, exercising, grocery shopping, cooking, eating,  and socializing. Like some kind of fiend, I careen around the internet, from Zappos to Google maps to travel forums to ferry websites, snapping up info about good walking shoes and the distance from Zagreb to Belgrade and Ryanair route maps and ferry timetables from Dubrovnik to Bari to Corfu (vs. a bus trip from Thessaloniki to  Corfu); I stop my frenzied searching only to add to my haphazard to-do list. It’s not organized or prioritized, it is clearly the product of a broken mind. And so I stay up until 2 am on a work night. I sleep through my alarm in the mornings and make it to work by the skin of my teeth, rumpled in whatever clothes were lying around and happened to match. My eyes are ringed with deep circles.  But, like an addict, I don’t really care. I am SO PUMPED about this trip. The dudes in this study weren’t lyin’–my whole life seems better and more satisfying.

(This means that probably, not only will there not be any afterglow, but I won’t be surprised to find myself sunk into a deep despair when I am rudely thrust back into the world of the cubicle. godddd. no. it will seem unbearable after 2 months traveling.)

The only problem is I’m still only just getting the barest itinerary together, and haven’t made all the necessary arrangements yet, and it’s down to 7 weeks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

